A headstart on a new beginning

After two major food holidays (three, if you count New Year’s Eve…and I do) so close together, it’s hard not to feel like a sloth who wants nothing better than to sit in a tree and wait for two months of food to digest.  Luckily, I managed to cut some weight before the New Year’s party food arrived–I even did it without exercising!  Ok, no.  I didn’t do it by throwing up, and I’ll forgive you this once if you thought that’s what I meant.  All the uber smart cookies who’ve noticed the subtle foreshadowing puns already know how I was able to accomplish such a feat.  Are you ready for a hint?  It has to do with this picture.

Alright, time’s up!  The correct answer is I cut my hair.  I not only cut my hair, I chopped off 14 inches to get a better idea of how my hair will look when I’ll be at boot camp.  I’m still deciding to which charity I should donate my hair, but the finalists are Locks of Love (which makes wigs for children going through cancer treatment) and Pantene Beautiful Lengths (which does the same for women).  Pantene is probably the one I’ll choose because I think women would appreciate a longer wig and the versatility it would bring as far as styling is concerned.

I still have to get my hair cut and styled later this week, so I’ll wait to post an “after” picture until then.  Stay tuned for my first mega post that will cover my initial weigh in and measurements plus a look at my workout schedule for the week. In the meantime, what are your thoughts on choosing a charity for my hair donation?  Do you have any personal experience or stories to share?