First mega post

A fresh start, it’s finally here!  As promised I’m posting my starting weight and measurements so that I’ll be able to track my progress and share my successes with my adoring public.

Starting weight: 149.5 lb

Starting measurements

  • Bust: 38 in
  • Chest: 33.5 in
  • Waist: 31 in
  • Hips: 40 in
  • Thighs: 22.5 in
  • Calves: 13.25 in
  • Upper arm: 11.25 in
  • Forearm: 9.5 in

Crazy side note: It was very strange actually seeing these numbers as my measurements.  Not because I think they’re insanely large, but similar to the feeling I get looking at a common English word and not trusting myself that it’s spelled correctly, even though I know it is–I blame that problem on all the Spanish classes I took during school/college.  Do you ever get a similar feeling when reading or writing?

Sorry if I scared you back there, I’ll try to steer back to a more sane train of thought.  Now that I’ve purchased a new digital scale and done all my measurements I have to decide on some workouts that will help me acheive my goals.  Before the holidays and my complete lack of willpower to workout hit, I was following the Two Hundred Sit-ups and One Hundred Push Ups programs, both of which take you from any fitness level and get you to the goal within six weeks.  The times that I’ve used their workouts I’ve seen definite improvement, so I’ll most likely continue to follow them since completing the program will more than take me past my goal numbers for push ups and sit ups.  That still leaves me with the need for a running/cardio/overall toning workout.

My sister (author of the Ragamuffin blog seen in the blogroll to the right) has been going on about the workouts at Body Rock and recently started their 30 Day Challenge.  Just looking at their page can be kind of intimidating because all of the girls look super toned, but reading through the posts about each of their exercise routines (all of which are done at home with little to no outside equipment) makes starting their program seem much more approachable.  All of the instructors provide videos and pictures of each section and explain how to modify the moves for different fitness levels.  All of their workouts are intense interval training usually lasting between 12-30 minutes, which would cover the cardio and overall toning needs.  As far as the running goes, the road near my house is pretty straight and has a sidewalk that stretches for ~1 mile so I’ll probably use that and time myself on each run.

Since writing about the exercises and my initial weigh-in and measurements took up a lot of space I’ll save my workout schedule rough draft for the next post (which will also be the last one before I begin my workout regimen on Monday!).  In the meantime, do you have any suggestions for workout programs I should look into before committing to the ones I’ve listed above?  Have you tried any of the programs mentioned and if so, what were your results?