All signs point to next Monday

It’s 8 o’clock and all is well somewhat better!  The sore throat and other symptoms are gone, but the cough remains.  So I made the executive decision to put the heavy breathing exercises (aka Body Rock and Cto5k) to Monday and give my lungs a break.  Taking a shower, changing out of my “sick” clothes, and generally cleaning up from my hermit routine helped a lot with the healthier feeling.  Believe me, you didn’t want to see what I looked like.  Imagine Snape’s greasy head of hair atop a sweatshirt/yoga pant wearing vagrant girl surrounded by two dogs on a couch and you might be close to a mental picture of my appearance for the past few days.  After tidying up I finished today’s sit up workout (specifics seen below) and filled in all the yummy stuff I ate in my food journal.

Sit up workout details (Day 2, second column):

  • 9, 12, 9, 9, 23; performed with 60 second break between reps
  • 62 total

Announcement time:

  • I posted the link to my blog on Facebook yesterday and my friends came through in BIG way!  The Navy and Me was visited 61 times in one day–the record before that was 19!–and 3 more people decided to follow my updates.  Thank you so much to everybody who stopped by yesterday, you couldn’t have surprised me more with your turnout.  Looking back, I probably shouldn’t have been so worried about sharing my posts on Facebook, but now that I know that it’s not the end of the world I’ll share all the time. 
  • Friday I will be getting my hair styled/cut (finally!) after chopping it off for the donation a week or so ago.  I’m obviously going to let her give me some suggestions, but I think I want something like a mix between the two picture below.  As I get closer to boot camp I’ll probably have my hair chemically straightened so I won’t have to worry about doing anything to it while I’m there.

    Ginnifer Goodwin's pixie cut from her role as Snow White/Mary Margaret Blanchard in "Once Upon a Time"

Ashley Greene's pixie cut wig she wears while playing Alice in "Breaking Dawn"

Tomorrow’s post will be shorter since I’ve decided to push the running/interval training to next Monday, but I hope that all of you will still keep checking in!  In the meantime, what are your thoughts on the blog so far?  Are there things you’d like to see more or something that I haven’t been doing?  How about the pictures and ideas for my haircut(s): thumbs up or down?

7 thoughts on “All signs point to next Monday

  1. I am glad you are feeling better. I can’t wait to see your new updated doo. When are you going to get your hair did? I miss you terribly and anticipate seeing you at the end of the month.

    • I’ll try to include more Navy stuff in my posts from now on. I’d been meaning to do that from the beginning, but I guess it slipped my mind. I still have to get a nice header for the blog and that will definitely be Navy heavy.

  2. I’m glad you’re better. I absolutely can’t wait to see your new hair. Why do you need to cut it more, though? I think the way your hair looks now is very nice on you. Is it because of a length regulation? I know that in the Air Force, your hair can’t touch your collar, and it can’t be more than 2 inches in fullness. So many rules. :/

    • Thanks! I like my hair this length, too! The lady who cut my hair for the donation did it for free and then tried to make it as even as possible afterward without styling it. She’s not the one I usually go to for hair cuts, so I’m going tomorrow to get it styled and decide if I want to cut it shorter now (like the pictures) or wait until August for the more extreme cut. The only length regulation is for boot camp; your hair can’t touch your collar and you aren’t allowed to wear it up in a bun or ponytail. After boot camp you have longer hair if it’s kept up in a french braid or bun. I know what you mean about the rules, but it’s nice to have some guidelines in life–I say that now, we’ll see later on ;)

Leave a Reply

