Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

Okay, ladies and gentlemen.  Nobody responded with the complete answer for yesterday’s trivia question: What is a fathom?  I will give Glenn Coulter–my Dad, BTW– and lostartpublishing partial credit of 50 points each for being very close.  The correct answer (according to my little Navy book) is: a unit of length (equal to 6 feet) used for measuring the depth of water.  I’ve updated the Navy lingo page to include the correct definition, something I’ll do after every trivia answer is revealed, so that everyone can increase their Navy knowledge.  Today’s question should be a bit easier since I’m sure that most people know at least one of the definitions.  Remember, same rules and no cheating.  Good luck!

Navy Trivia of the Day

  • What does scuttlebutt mean?  There are two answers for this one.

It’s only the second day of my restart and I’ve decided to change my schedule.  Instead of doing the 30 Day Body Rock Challenge according to their schedule (every weekday) I will do those workouts Monday, Wednesday, and Friday (according to my original schedule, seen here).  Changing the frequency from every weekday to every other weekday will give my body time to recover from the workouts, especially since I’ll be doing the Cto5k running program on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday.  To make a long explanation short, that’s why there’s not a Body Rock workout detail below.  The two routines I did finish today are the push up workout and the Cto5k workout.

Push up workout details (Week 2, Day 1, first column):

  • 4, 6, 4, 4, 8; performed with a 60 second rest between reps
  • 26 Total

Cto5k workout details (Week 1, Workout 1):

  • Brisk 5 min warm up walk
  • Alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes
  • I can definitely tell that I haven’t really run since Thanksgiving; it was so good to start again!

Don’t forget to send in your answer to the trivia question and check back in tomorrow for the winners and another round of exercises!

13 thoughts on “Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. I remember you telling me what/who a scuttlebutt is, but for the life of me I can’t remember! I think it’s a great idea to alternate BodyRock to every other day, because it can completely drain you if you aren’t used to it. And you do have a lot of other exercises to do. Keep up the great work Beth!!

    • Thanks for the encouragement! When are you going to update your blog? Also, we need to try Pinkberry when you and Mom are in town. It’s totes the best hun cal fro yo :)

      • Interesting that you mention Pinkberry… The co-founder, Young Lee, was arrested today as he returned into the US. He is charged with beating up a homeless man and fleeing the country to his homeland, Korea. Apparently he and another man got in an argument with the homeless man, jumped out of their car, chased the homeless man down, and beat the crap out of him before jumping back in their car and speeding away. Although this is all true I feel like it is setting a a punch line…..

      • That’s a really sad story. It makes me angry that people think it’s alright to hurt the homeless; they need our love and charity, not our disdain. I don’t think most people realize how thin the line is between having a home/job and being homeless. A few slip ups and some bad luck and a regular Joe could be out on the streets, this fact is even more true for people with mental illness who have a much harder time crossing back over the line. Now I feel like I just preached to the choir :)

    • I don’t know if I can give you credit for the answer if you looked it up, even in a dictionary ;) The training has been pretty good so far, still a little sore from running yesterday and I’m sure that I’ll be sore after doing today’s Body Rock exercise, but it’s the good kind of sore–a little reminder that you’re still alive and on the right track.

Leave a Reply

