We are grateful for the time we have been given

You probably think I’m about to make a sad announcement based on the title, but I’m not.  For some reason that quote from The Village has always resonated with me.  Almost every time I look at a lot of random quotes online or in a book (which is not often) I tend to like/relate to the ones about time more–probably because I’m a procrastinator.  Interestingly, I also am really uptight about being early for appointments and starting meetings on time.  This inner struggle between laziness and an almost fanatical devotion to preestablished start times really explains a lot about why I am the way I am.  But enough about me..for now ;)

The trivia question has almost prevailed once again.  Glenn provided a quasi correct answer, so I’ll give him 25 points.  Lostartpublishing was the closest, without providing the details necessary for the full 100 points, so I’ll give him 75 points.  For all of you who are wondering, here is the answer.  A flag officer is any commissioned officer in pay grade O-7 (Rear Admiral) or above.  Today’s question is going to be deceptively easy, so make sure that you provide a detailed answer.

Navy trivia of the day

  • What is a buoy?

Today’s workout schedule was changed around a bit.  I completed the push up workout as planned, but instead of doing my Cto5k run I did tomorrow’s sit up workout.  There wasn’t enough time for me to run and take care of errands before going to work so I decided to push it to tomorrow (when I’m off).

Push up workout details (Day 1, first column):

  • 17, 19, 15, 15, 20; performed with a 60 second rest between reps
  • 86 Total

Sit up workout details (Day 2, first column):

  • 15, 15, 20, 20, 15, 15, 15, 41; performed with 60 second break between reps
  • 156 total

Thanks to everybody who continues to check in and comment!  You’re making my journey that much better!

P.S.  There’s another Monty Python reference in this post (you really can’t blame me when the opportunity was right there).  Like last time, there’s 50 points available to the first person to correctly identify it.  Good luck!

2 thoughts on “We are grateful for the time we have been given

  1. Ah, I can feel points within my grasp. A buoy is an object that floats in the water that mark a place / spot probably for navigational or warning purposes.

    As to Monte Python, “THAT’S EASY!” … I thought for a moment that you could join the spanish inquisition given your”fanatical devotion”… But, alas it was not to the pope. :) you better pick another movie to make reference to I get these 2 easy

  2. Glenn the speedster! Yeah Im pretty much ashaimed to call myself a Monty Python fan! I love the skits, but I can never guess these! Oh well.
    My answer was the same as well; a buoy is (to my knowledge) a depth marker/ that thing you hit accidentally with a pontoon (that goes “ping”! -mp)

Leave a comment