Megapost 3 and other things

My sincerest apologies for not keeping up with my blog posts.  This week is beyond any attempt at workout redemption so I’m going to stop stressing about trying to catch up.  Instead, I’ll focus on doing the regular schedule for the push ups and sit ups and start fresh next week for the other exercise programs.  Since I’ve been away several things have occurred.  First, Glenn was the first to correctly answer the liberty trivia question.  The full definition is “permission to leave the base (usually not for more than 48 hours).”  Liberty is not the same as leave, which is usually for a longer period of time and is earned based on the amount of days you’ve worked.  A good way to think about it is to equate liberty to the time after you get off work or the weekend and compare leave to vacation time.  Hope that helps to clear things up before I drop another confusing question on you :)

Navy trivia of the day

  • What is an ensign?  What is the ensign?
  • There’s a difference and you’ll need to provide both definitions to get the full 100 points.

The second thing that happened since I posted on Tuesday was I updated my measurements/weight.  The latest numbers are below and the changes are based on the measurements from Megapost 2.

Current measurements

  • Bust: 36.5 in (-.5 in)
  • Chest: 33.75 in (-.25 in)
  • Waist: 30 in (-1 in)
  • Hips: 39.25 in (-.25 in)
  • Thighs: 22.5 in (+.5 in)
  • Calves: 13.5 in (no change)
  • Upper arm: 11.5 in (no change)
  • Forearm: 9 in (no change)
  • Total change: -1.5 in

Current weight: 143.5 or 147 lb (-.5 lb or +3 lb)

You are seeing correctly, folks.  There are two possible weights.  The first reading is from my scale at home around noon on Wednesday and the second is from the scale at the DEP station around 4 PM on the same day.  Either way, I know that going forward I need to start updating my food diary daily and making healthier choices generally.

Thirdly, at my DEP meeting I received some surprisingly good news.  I have been promoted to XO (Executive Officer)!  This title means that I’m second in command, beneath the CO (Commanding Officer), and now all the other people in DEP have to salute me and then ask permission to come aboard/go ashore when entering/exiting the station (only if the CO isn’t there to fulfill the duty).  My recruiter really caught me off guard when he told me that I was the new XO (10 minutes before the meeting started and everybody showed up), but I’m really happy to have the extra responsibility and power, hehe.  He said I was chosen because I’ll be in DEP until August and I was already very knowledgeable about procedure and other necessary information.  Well, I guess that’s enough tooting my own horn…moving on.

Finally, I have done these exercises since Wednesday: sit ups and push ups.

Sit up workout details (Day 2, second column):

  • 30, 38, 30, 30, 42; performed with 60 second break between reps
  • 170 total

Sit up workout details (Day 3, second column):

  • 35, 42, 35, 35, 50; performed with 60 second break between reps
  • 197 total

Push up workout details (Day 2, first column):

  • 14, 16, 12, 12, 18; performed with a 60 second rest between reps
  • 72 Total

That was a lot of information.  I’ll stop providing you with more (for tonight) and let it all sink in until tomorrow’s post.  In the meantime, send in your answers to the trivia question.  Have a great night (or at least the 15 minutes that are left)!

One thought on “Megapost 3 and other things

Leave a comment